You can have prepared a number of spells equal to 1/2 your paladin level + your Charisma modifier. As a level 2 paladin with a Charisma modifier is +3, this means you can prepare 4 spells.
How many prepared spells can I have?
With a (spellcasting ability score) of 16, your list of prepared spells can include six spells of 1st or 2nd level, in any combination, chosen from your spellbook. If you prepare the 1st-level spell X, you can cast it using a 1st-level or a 2nd-level slot.
How many spell slots do Paladins have?
3 spell slots
The paladin then has 3 spell slots that he can use to actually cast spell. He could cast one of his 6 prepared spells three times, or cast three separate spells once each, but in the end he can only cast three spells. Further, when he Divine Smites it consumes one of his spell slots.
How many spells does a Level 1 Paladin get?
This means you can only cast level 1 spells. You know every 1st level paladin spell in existence. There’s a list of them on page 208 of the Player’s Handbook. It includes 15 spells, from bless to wrathful smite.
Does divine smite crit?
Under my DM’s current ruling, the Divine smite would not double it’s damage on a crit. Obviously everything is up to your GM at the end of the day, but RAW this is incorrect. The PHB states that “if the attack involves ANY other damage dice, you roll those dice twice as well.”
Do Cantrips count as spells?
Cantrips are spells. “Cantrip” is short for “0 level spell” in the D&D rules. For more infornation, check out chapter 10 of the Player’s Handbook.
Do Cantrips count as prepared spells?
Cantrips are free magic — if you know a cantrip, you can cast it as many times as you want, whenever you want. Cantrips don’t need to be prepared, and they don’t use up Spell Slots.
Can Wizards swap spells?
Contrary to Sorcerers and similar, there’s no provision for a Wizard to “exchange” known spells, because he doesn’t lose them, they are always there (as long as he has his spellbook(s), at least).
Can a paladin be evil?
Comparable to the archetypical knight in shining armor, paladins are holy warriors who have sworn an oath to fight evil, often in the name of a specific god or other powerful entity (Cordell et al. 2014). As such, paladins are rarely evil (though, it must be noted, “rarely” does not mean “never”).
What does a paladin get at level 2?
Starting at 2nd level, when you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack, you can expend one spell slot to deal radiant damage to the target, in addition to the weapon’s damage. The extra damage is 2d8 for a 1st-level spell slot, plus 1d8 for each spell level higher than 1st, to a maximum of 5d8.
What is a paladin in real life?
A paladin or paladine was a person with a lot of power in many countries during the medieval and in early modern Europe. … The word paladin was first used in Ancient Rome for a chamberlain of the Emperor, and also for the imperial palace guard, called the Scholae Palatinae by Constantine.
Is divine smite a bonus action?
However, your player is right about the Divine Smite combo because while thunderous smite is a spell that is cast using a bonus action before you attack, Divine Smite is not a spell and does not require a bonus action it is a class feature that requires no action and is used after you hit with an attack.
Do Paladins know Cantrips?
You don’t get any cantrips. A character doesn’t get spells, as a paladin, until they take the second level of paladin. … At level 2 the paladin will have 2 first level spell slots. A character’s level and that character’s spell levels will not match up.
Is divine smite a spell?
Divine smite is not a spell, yet it is fueled by spell slots. Because it is not a spell, it is not affected by things like Rage that prevent spellcasting.
Can a paladin be lawful neutral?
Paladins are no longer alignment-locked. The Player’s Handbook explicitly references non-LG paladins: PHB, page 88, Tenets of Vengeance: “… mete out justice upon those who do evil, so the paladins are often neutral or lawful neutral in alignment.
Do paladins get spells at level 1?
Do I get spells as a paladin at 1st level if I have the stats to get bonus spells? But paladins dont get their first spell slots until Level 3 I believe. Look at the paladin class table in the beginning of their section and it shows you when you get spell slots.
Can Eldritch smite crit?
Eldritch Smite caps at 6d8 force damage, or 12d8 on a critical hit.
Does smite damage crit?
Smite damage is not precision damage, and since it is extra points not extra dice of damage, it is definitely multiplied. The only things not multiplied on crits are extra dice of damage, such as precision damage or weapon effects like flaming. You do indeed multiply the smite damage and the strength modifier.
Can you smite while raging?
Raging only prevents you from casting spells or concentrating on them, so basically any feature that isn’t using the Cast a Spell Action, is usable while Raging. This would include Smite. You wouldn’t be able to use the spells like Branding Smite, but the actual Smite ability is fair game.
Are Cantrips unlimited?
Default is unlimited. Keep in mind that some races have cantrips available to them all the time, regardless of class. High Elf gets a free cantrip from the wizard spell list.
Are Level 0 spells Cantrips?
Cantrips are definitely 0-level spells, and that should mean you can memorise them in a higher -level slot.